Back to Blogging

After a long hiatus from blogging, which was predominantly due to a lengthy period of intellectual dormancy brought on by five months living in the suburbs of New Jersey and having a job in construction, I have finally decided to start blogging again.

For those who don’t know, I am currently living in London where I am pursing a masters degree in Middle East Politics at the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS).  The program, which is a year long, has thus far proven to be extremely interesting, fulfilling and work intensive.  My professors and classmates are are diverse and I think it is safe to say that they are, for the most part, cut from a different cloth.

In terms of living accommodations, I live in an institution called Goodenough College which is, from what I am told, similar to the “college”-type setting found at Oxford and Cambridge.  Students here at Goodenough are all studying at the post-graduate level and thus far I have met some very intelligent, motivated, and outgoing individuals.  There is a very scholarly air to the place although people still manage to throw down quite frequently.

As you might imagine, my day-to-day life is perhaps a bit more mundane than that of my time in Cairo so I’m going to be writing about a bit more academic issues, in a bit more academic style.  Aside from expressing my opinions, ideas, and beliefs that arise from lectures, readings, and current events, blogging in such a manner is going to serve as good practice for my forthcoming essays that are due throughout the year.  In essence, I need to get my fingers and mind moving again.

I hope that everyone finds my posts to be interesting and insightful and as usual, feedback and commentary are always welcomed.

One response to “Back to Blogging

  1. Hi,

    Really great Post! I’ve enjoyed reading through your blog because of the great style and energy. I have a blog on travel theme. If you’re interested, we would love to have you on as a guest blogger. Please send me an e-mail and I can give you more information. Looking forward to hearing from you.

    Thanks
    Dharm

Leave a Reply

