Pi Phi in Egypt

I was at a club last night in downtown Cairo with some friends and I had an experience that I thought was comical and worth sharing.  My friends and I were dancing to some shitty house music when I looked over and saw a chubby Egyptian guy leaning against the wall, clearly longing for some attention, clad in a Pi Beta Phi sweatshirt.

I went up to him and asked him in Arabic if he spoke English.  He did.  I then asked where he got the sweatshirt.  In a pretty strong accent he replied, “In the United States.”  From his face I could tell that he had no idea what it was, except that it was American, and thus in his eyes, cool.  I asked him if he knew what the Greek letters on his sweatshirt meant/represented.  He didn’t.  I said, “It’s a sorority.”  He didn’t know what that was so I tried to explain over the loud music that it’s a “group of girls that…”    He looked concerned.  I saw that it was a futile effort to explain the concept so I slapped him on the back and said, ‘Nice sweatshirt.”

3 responses to “Pi Phi in Egypt

Leave a Reply

